One Year

December 11, 2011 at 4:05 pm Leave a comment

Wow.  One year ago today I said goodbye to BFT and made the commitment to come back to Austin and do something to give back.  Reading my blog post from that day, I am still struck by Sophorn’s words as we sat in the tree house sopping up soup with bread: “Everyone wants a way to give back and when you find it you know and you just do it.”

I knew I had found it with BFT, I just wasn’t quite sure where I could take it.  Looking back at this past year, I have to say that my mind is a bit blown.  It started with me driving around Austin like a madwoman with a trunk full of scarves and eventually led to the formation of an amazingly committed team of volunteers that came to be known as Austin2Angkor.  I am so thankful to Caitlyn, Nick, Tracy, Shannon, Vanessa and Nicole for jumping on board and trusting that all the effort and dedication is going to have a huge impact on a community of strangers in a country to which they’ve never been.  I promise, it is worth it, and I can’t wait to share the experience with you!

I know I’ve said it in practically every post on this blog, but I have to reiterate my gratitude to everyone who has ever committed their time, money, space or attention to Austin2Angkor.  From friends and family to the Austin community at large, without each of you we wouldn’t be where we are today.

Looking forward to what’s to come,

Roni

Entry filed under: General.

Online Donation Hiatus Seasons Greetings!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


BFT Center Website

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Contact Us

For any questions, comments, or to get on our events mailing list, contact us at austin2angkor [at] gmail [dot] com

